#### FOR FURTHER INFORMATION REGARDING THESE MINUTES PLEASE E-MAIL THE BOARD OFFICE AT board@wsd1.org

Minutes of Special Meeting
of the
Board of Trustees
of
The Winnipeg School Division

APPROVED BY THE BOARD ON MAY 16, 2011

Board Room, Administration Building, Winnipeg, May 9, 2011.

The Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of The Winnipeg School Division was held this day at 7:00 p.m.

The Secretary-Treasurer called the meeting to order.

Present: Trustees S. Hrynyk (Chair), K. Barr, C. Collins, R. Hildahl,

D. Bautista, M. Babinsky, J. Sneesby

In Attendance: P. Clarke, R. Appelmans, K. Seiler, C. Caetano-Gomes,

R. Chartrand, D. Persaud, L. Wilson, G. Heath, B. Lapointe

Regrets: A. Ramos

# **APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA**

Babinsky-Hildahl That the Agenda for the Special meeting of the School Board to be

held this evening, May 9, 2011 be approved. - Carried.

# 165 - Presentations - MSBA Student Citizenship Award Nominees

The Chair welcomed to the meeting the Division's two nominees for the Student Citizenship Award sponsored by the Manitoba School Boards Association indicating that this award is to recognize outstanding young people who have demonstrated commitment to the values of citizenship through: volunteer service; involvement in citizenship or character building organizations; participation in student government programs or activities; or leadership ability to motivate others to actions for the benefit of the community.

The following award nominees were introduced to the Board and presented with a book certificate by the Chair to mark this occasion.

Bianca Ramos, Grade 12 Student St. John's High School

Kaylene Shumsky, Grade 12 Student Elmwood High School

# <u>166 – MSBA Premier Award for School Board Innovation</u>

Representatives from the 2008 and 2009 Argyle Alternative High School Video Production Program were introduced to the Board and presented with a book certificate as well as a plaque from MSBA:

- Stanley Wood
- John Cook
- Theresa Archer
- Matthew Edwards
- Kyle Hudlin-Whelan
- John Barrett, Teacher
- Dave Berg, Educational Assistant

# **NEW BUSINESS**

167 – By-Law No. 1183 – FIRST READING DEBENTURE BORROWING - \$1,756,000.00

Babinsky-Collins

"That By-law No. 1183 a by-law of The Winnipeg School Division for the purpose of borrowing \$1,756,000.00 for certain building projects, be introduced and read a first time in short." – Carried.

By-Law No. 1183 was then read accordingly.

# 168 - Review of Division Policies

Barr-Bautista

"That Division Policies as outlined in the Memorandum dated May 9, 2011 from the Chief Superintendent be referred to the Policy/Program Committee for review." – Carried.

# **BUSINESS MATTERS AS DEFINED IN RULE 41.4**

# Committee of the Whole

Collins-Sneesby

That the Board recess into Committee of the Whole in camera at this

time. - Carried.

The Board then recessed into Committee of the Whole in camera at 8:45 p.m. with Trustee Barr, Vice Chair.

Upon the Board resuming in public session at 8:46 p.m., Trustee Barr, Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole presented the following recommendation of that Committee:

Trustee Barr, the Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole, informed the Board that the Committee of the Whole had discussed MSBA Board Visitations, Gordon Bell Grounds Development Update, Downtown Winnipeg Residential Development Grant and MSBA Residential Planning Committee.

	The meeting dajourned at or it pinn	
Chair	Secretary-Treasurer	

The meeting adjourned at 8:47 p.m.



#### THE WINNIPEG SCHOOL DIVISION

1577 Wall Street East, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 2S5 Telephone: (204) 775-0231 FAX: 774-6211

# SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MONDAY, MAY 9, 2011

7:00 P.M.

THE MSBA AWARDS WILL BE PRESENTED TO THE BOARD AT 7:00 P.M. THE PRESENTATION WILL BE FOLLOWED BY A RECEPTION.

# AGENDA

- 1. CALL TO ORDER & ROLL CALL
- 2. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA
- 3. PRESENTATIONS:
  - a) MSBA STUDENT CITIZENSHIP AWARD

Bianca Ramos, Grade 12 Student St. John's High School

Kaylene Shumsky, Grade 12 Student Elmwood High School

# b) MSBA PREMIER AWARD FOR SCHOOL BOARD INNOVATION

Representatives from the 2008 and 2009 Argyle Alternative High School Video Production Program:

- Stanley Wood
- John Cook
- Theresa Archer
- Matthew Edwards
- Kyle Hudlin-Whelan
- John Barrett, Teacher
- Dave Berg, Educational Assistant

# 4. NEW BUSINESS

# 4.1 By-Law No. 1183 - FIRST READING DEBENTURE BORROWING - \$1,756,000.00

Page 4

"That By-law No. 1183 a by-law of The Winnipeg School Division for the purpose of borrowing \$1,756,000.00 for certain building projects, be introduced and read a first time in short."

(By-law No. 1183 then read accordingly.)

# 4.2 Review of Division Policies

Page 7

"That Division Policies as outlined in the Memorandum dated May 9, 2011 from the Chief Superintendent be referred to the Policy/Program Committee for review."

# 5. BUSINESS MATTERS AS DEFINED IN RULE 41.4