AWARDS AND SCHOLARSHIPS PRESENTED AT THE 2014 KELVIN HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATION CEREMONY

GOVERNOR GENERAL'S MEDAL and THE KELVIN 75th ANNIVERSARY REUNION SCHOLARSHIP FOR THE RECIPIENT OF THE GOVERNOR GENERAL'S MEDAL – honours outstanding scholastic achievement. The most prestigious award that students in Canadian schools can receive, the Collegiate Bronze Medal honours the top academic student. The Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Award is given to the recipient of the Governor General's Medal.

AVERY WHITE

KELVIN 75th ANNIVERSARY REUNION SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS

In 1987, the Kelvin 75th Reunion Committee undertook to use the net proceeds from the Reunion held that year to create a Scholarship Fund, recognizing the achievements of graduating students in a broad range of categories.

Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – 75th Reunion – *is for outstanding academic achievement.*

KIRK WRIGHT

Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – Athletic Awards – acknowledges skill and sportsmanship for students pursuing post secondary education.

AVERY SHARPE LEAH WILSON

Kelvin 75^{th} Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – Community Involvement Award – is for contribution to the community-at-large.

CLEO SYVERSON

Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – Dux Citizenship Award – acknowledges outstanding citizenship.

KINDAH RANGINYA

 $\textbf{Kelvin 75}^{th} \ \textbf{Anniversary Reunion Scholarship} - \textbf{Dux Scholarship Awards} - \textit{is for outstanding academics}.$

SANKRANTI PATEL CHI ZHANG Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – Greatest Improvement Award – is for a student who has demonstrated growth in the course of his or her academic career at Kelvin.

ROBBIE HARPER

Kelvin 75th Anniversary Reunion Scholarship – Performing Arts Award – recognizes leadership and accomplishment in this field.

ELENA HOWARD-SCOTT

DUX CITIZENSHIP MEDALS – are Kelvin's long-standing award for school community service.

REBECCA ENGEL GILLIAN HANSELL KINDAH RANGINYA

DUX SCHOLARSHIP MEDALS – are Kelvin's long-standing award for academic excellence.

MARLEY FERREIRA-MALYON SANKRANTI PATEL CHI ZHANG

KELVIN ATHLETIC MEDALS – are awarded to the outstanding male and female athletes in the graduating class.

LEAH WILSON AVERY SHARPE

ALYSSA AVERBACH MEMORIAL AWARD – established in memory of a former Kelvin student, is given to a student who demonstrates commitment to Kelvin's choir.

RIDGE ROMANISHEN

AWARD OF MERIT – recognizes a student who has shown resilience and determination in the face of adversity.

MURAT MARTIN-KERANOVIC

CHOWN CENTENNIAL SCHOLARSHIP – is given to a top honours student enrolling at the *University of Manitoba*.

AEISHA STERLING

CITY COUNCILLOR AWARD – recognizes an individual who understands the importance of the larger community by making significant contributions to Winnipeg.

COBIE DAMSEL

COMMUNITY CITIZENSHIP AWARD – is given for demonstrating community leadership, high standards of integrity and respect for others, and a willingness to speak to social issues.

MADELIN PINEAU

EXCELLENCE IN FRENCH AWARD – is given to a student in the French Immersion Program who demonstrates excellence in both written and oral communication.

MICHAELA PRENTICE KIRK WRIGHT

FORT ROUGE MLA SCHOLARSHIP – is awarded to a student residing in the Fort Rouge Constituency and who has made a notable contribution to the community.

JENNA MEARS

FRED G. GILBERT MEMORIAL BURSARY – *established in memory of a former Kelvin teacher, is awarded for outstanding character, aptitude and academics.*

AINSLEE HEIM

FRIESENS YEARBOOK SCHOLARSHIP – given to a student who has made significant contributions to the yearbook.

HALLA BERTRAND

GRANT HERMANSON ART AWARD – established in memory of a former Kelvin student, is presented for outstanding achievement in art.

HUGO MONTES DE OCA PALAU

CAROLE ISAAC MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP – established in honour of a former Kelvin student, is awarded to a female student with outstanding grades in mathematics, physics, and chemistry who intends to enter university.

STEPHANIE TIEN

KELVIN COFFEE HOUSE AWARD – is given to a student who has made significant contributions to the Coffee House events.

SAM FRIESEN-BEARDSEL MICHAEL SCOTT

KELVIN HIGH SCHOOL STAFF AWARD – is awarded to a deserving student at the discretion of the Kelvin High School Awards Committee.

INGA CHRISTIANSON MAGGIE LAVERGE

KELVIN STUDENT COUNCIL AWARD – recognizes noteworthy involvement in school activities.

DAVIS JOHNSON JILLIAN NEUFELD **KELVIN JUBILEE AWARD – BURSARY** – instituted in 1962 on the occasion of Kelvin's 50th Anniversary, is given to a university-bound student with high academic standing.

STEPHANIE TIEN

KELVIN JUBILEE AWARD – SCHOLARSHIP – instituted in 1962 on the occasion of Kelvin's 50th Anniversary, is given to a university-bound student with high academic standing.

MICHAELA PRENTICE

KELVIN MUSICAL THEATRE AWARD - is given to a student who has made significant contributions to Kelvin High School's musical theatre productions.

ELENA HOWARD-SCOTT

LIFETOUCH AWARD – is awarded for excellence in academics, citizenship and integrity.

KARL CHEN

LORAN AWARDS – offered to students who demonstrate character, service, and leadership potential.

Ralph M. Barford Loran Award: KIRK WRIGHT Semi-finalist Certificate: COBIE DAMSEL

MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT AWARD – recognises student involvement, concern for the human condition, and accomplishment in History and/or Canadian Studies.

CLEO SYVERSON

PAN AM MEDICINE CLINIC FOUNDATION BURSARY - goes to a graduating high school student who is judged to have made the most significant contribution to athletic programs in The Winnipeg School Division.

CLEMENT SACKEY

${\bf SCHOOL\ BOARD\ BOOK\ AWARDS\ FOR\ SCHOLASTIC\ ACHIEVEMENT}-are\ awarded\ by$

the Trustees of the Winnipeg School Division to honour high academic success.

BENJAMIN FRANSOO IRIS ROBINSON
HELEN MA CAROLINE SHENODA
CATHERINE MCINNIS SYDNEY SMITH
CHANTELL MENESES SARAH STACEY
RACHEL NARVEY ERIN TRAMLEY

ALEX OSTASH LUNAN ZHAO

SCHULICH LEADER NOMINEE – recognizes excellence in the pursuit of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics).

DAREEN EL-SAYED

SOUCHAY GOSSEN FAMILY FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP – recognizes a student who demonstrates commitment to education and engagement to the school community and the community at large.

ALEKSANDRA CIOCHON-NEWTON

ALLAN BRETT SERBIN MEMORIAL AWARD – established in memory of a former Kelvin student, awarded to a student with active extra-curricular involvement and who has registered at a post-secondary institution.

MICHAEL DOYLE

NORA TAYLOR MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP – is given to a student having high academic standing, active involvement in the school and community, and who will attend a Canadian university.

SUZAN PALANI

THE WINNIPEG SCHOOL DIVISION POST SECONDARY SCHOLARSHIP – special recognition of a student who has persevered in the face of adversity and/or unusual challenges in order to achieve high academic standing and who will pursue post secondary education.

MARLEY FERREIRA-MALYON

WINNIPEG TEACHERS' ASSOCIATION SCHOLARSHIP – is given to a student for outstanding citizenship and who will pursue post-secondary education.

CLEMENT SACKEY